Palm Desert Athena Awards 2013 – Oct. 30, 2013

Desert Willow Golf Resort

Gloria Greer Social Scene

The Palm Desert Athena Committee recognized two outstanding women on Oct. 30 at Desert Willow Golf Resort. Connie Golds received the Athena Entrepreneurial Award and Theresa Maggio, the Corporate Athena Award.

Golds is founder of Desert Best Friend’s Closet. This five year old nonprofit serves a vital function, giving appropriate work attire to women and men who otherwise do not have access to needed clothing. Golds’ community activities include serving on the Scholarship Committee of the Desert Community Foundation and the board of Women’s Leaders Forum. She received the 2010 Community Service Award from Palm Desert Area Chamber of Commerce, the 2010 Ruby Award for Women Helping Women from Palm Desert Soroptimists, and national Girl Scouts USA Appreciation Award for outstanding service.

Maggio, Marketing Director for Bighorn Golf Club for the past 11 years, has built a well-deserved reputation for creativity and excellence, both as a marketing professional and on behalf of her community. Recipient of the 2013 Corporate Athena Award, Maggio laid the groundwork through her work with Bighorn Bam (Behind A Miracle) for what has become Eisenhower Medical Center’s largest private fundraiser. Other work on behalf of the community includes ongoing service to Xavier College Preparatory High School, volunteering with Sacred Heart School, and serving as Vice Chair of Palm Desert’s Marketing Committee. She was identified earlier this year as a nominee for Palm Spring Life magazine’s Top Women in Business Awards.

The Athena Foundation is dedicated to creating leadership opportunities for women while the Athena Award programs recognize women on local, national, and international levels. To further enhance the award program, the Palm Desert Athena Committee offers scholarships to deserving students. Recipients this year were Maria E. Haigh, Jenny Beelke, and Andrea Vargas. Burrtec sponsored the youth scholarships, past Athena recipients, and The Gas Company. Joan Busick was emcee.