Steve Carrell, Chris Rock to Receive Accolades at Variety Brunch

Director Rob Marshall rounds out trio to be feted at Palm Springs film festival event

Site Staff Arts & Entertainment 0 Comments


In addition to celebrating the work of its "10 Directors to Watch," Variety will use its annual brunch during the Palm Springs International Film Festival to honor actor Steve Carell with the Creative Impact in Acting Award, director and actor Chris Rock with the Creative Impact in Comedy Award, and director Rob Marshall with the Creative Impact in Directing Award.

The brunch, presented by Mercedes-Benz, is Jan. 4 at the Parker Palm Springs.

Carrell, who has received critically acclaim for his groundbreaking performance in this year’s Foxcatcher, will be recognized for the scope of his work, ranging from his comedic performances to his most recent dramatic work for which he has received both Golden Globe and SAG Award nominations.


Photo courtesy of top five movie on facebook

Comedia Chris Rock will receive the inaugural Creative Impact in Comedy Award.


Marshall is a two-time Directors Guild of American Award-winner and Oscar, Golden Globe, and Tony Award nominatee. Variety will focus on his work in translating the acclaimed Sondheim musical, Into the Woods, onto the screen.

New to the program this year, Variety will present Rock, an Emmy Award winning comedian, with the Creative Impact in Comedy Award. He will be honored for his writing, directing and starring in the film, which he was honored for with the Spotlight Award by the National Board of Review. Top Five was also recognized by the Broadcast Film Critics Association with nominations for Best Comedy, Best Actor in a Comedy for Rock and Best Actress in a Comedy for Rosario Dawson.

Previous recipients have included Jonah Hill, David O. Russell, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Charlize Theron and Mark Wahlberg.


“10 Directors to Watch”

“10 Directors to Watch” debuted in 1996 and the annual event moved to the Palm Springs International Film Festival in January 2011. The event was the first of Variety’s “10 to Watch” series spotlighting the most exciting new talents in the fields of directing, writing, producing, acting, cinematography and comedy.

The 10 directors include: Sean Baker (Tangerine), Ava DuVernay (Selma), Shlomi Elkabetz and Ronit Elkabetz (Gett, the Trial of Viviane Amsalem), Jeremy Garelick (The Wedding Ringer), Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler), Marielle Heller (Diary of a Teenage Girl), Ruben Ostlund (Force Majeure – pictured at left), Damian Szifron (Wild Tales), and Leigh Whannell (Insidious: Chapter 3).

Past “10 Directors to Watch” honorees have included Ben Affleck (Gone Baby Gone), Wes Anderson (Bottle Rocket), Scott Cooper (Crazy Heart), Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer), Christopher Nolan (Memento), Sam Taylor Wood (Nowhere Boy) and Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild), among others.


Like what you're reading? Then "Like" us on Facebook and "follow" us on Twitter.

Leave a Reply