Celebrate Diversity

A rainbow-colored playground for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender residents and tourists, Greater Palm Springs has for decades given a welcome nod to the LGBT community

Winston Gieseke LGBT 0 Comments

The Sunday T-Dance at Jeffrey Sanker's White Party in Palm Springs.
Photos courtesy of Greater Palm Springs CVB

 

The Coachella Valley is not only a sun-kissed oasis brimming with amazing art and architecture, fabulous functions and fêtes, and the happiest happy hours on earth, it’s also a place that celebrates diversity and offers acceptance like no other.

With annual events that draw like-minded revelers from around the globe, such as Greater Palm Springs Pride, Dinah Shore Weekend, Jeffrey Sanker’s White Party, and the AIDS Assistance Program’s Evening Under the Stars, to name a few, the valley is packed with plenty of parties, parades, and powwows — as well as more gay and gay-friendly eateries, bars, hotels, shops, and other businesses per capita than any other gay destination.

Looking for some cozy one-on-one with your one and only? In the mood for a new love connection? This resort-casual gay paradise with its charming shops, laid-back attitude, and seemingly endless entertainment, food, and dancing (and let’s not forget the bars that pack the gay epicenter of Arenas Road in Palm Springs) is the perfect vacation spot to get your gay on.

Whether you’re sipping creative cocktails and enjoying the retro lounge vibe at Tropicale, feasting on TRIO’s California take on comfort food, shaking your well-toned booty at Toucans, or belting out your favorite show tunes at Spurline, there’s always plenty of fun to be had here, both in and out of the brilliant sunshine.

 

Ask a Local

Reggie Cameron, aka The Party Captain, is a publicist and marketing consultant extraordinaire for Greater Palm Springs and San Francisco Pride. Here, this full-time resident shares what he loves.

Favorite Party Spots: “Arenas Road has had much new activity for the LGBT set. Chill Bar has opened with a large patio and dance area. Hunters Palm Springs has completely renovated their dance floor area adding cryo cannons, laser lights, and a gigantic video wall that makes for the most impressive dance floor in the desert when paired up with the sexiest go-go boys. This spot is a staple in the gayborhood!”

Favorite Staycation: “The newly renovated Santiago Resort boasts the largest pool of any LGBT resort in the desert. On a recent visit, I was impressed by friendly staff, the variety of guests, the quality of rooms, and their amenities. The Santiago Resort will interest those seeking a tasteful setting for intimate and sexy experiences.”

 

Greater Palm Springs has long laid out a welcome mat for the LGBT crowd.

 

Eat, Drink, and Be Gay

Bongo Johnny’s, www.bongojohnnys.com

Chill Bar Palm Springs, www.chillbarpalmsprings.com

Copa Palm Springs, www.copapalmsprings.com

Digs Bar, www.digsbar.com

Georgie’s Alibi Azul Patio, www.alibiazul.com

Hunters Palm Springs, www.hunterspalmsprings.com

Oscar’s Café and Bar, www.oscarspalmsprings.com

Rio Azul Mexican Bar and Grill, www.rioazulpalmsprings.com

Score Game Bar, www.facebook.com/ScorePalmSprings

SpurLine The Video Bar, www.spurline.com

Streetbar, www.psstreetbar.com

tudio One 11, www.studio-one-11.com

Tool Shed, www.toolshed-ps.com

Toucans Tiki Lounge, www.toucanstikilounge.com

TRIO Restaurant, www.triopalmsprings.com

The Tropicale Restaurant, www.thetropicale.com

Wang’s in the Desert, www.wangsinthedesert.com

 

Stay

Bearfoot Inn, www.bearfootinn.com

Canyon Club Hotel, www.canyonclubhotel.com

Casa Ocotillo, www.casaocotillo.com

Casitas Laquita, www.casitaslaquita.com

CCBC, www.ccbcgayresort.com

Century Palm Springs, www.centurypalmsprings.com

East Canyon Resort, www.eastcanyonps.com

The Hacienda at Warm Sands, www.thehacienda.com

Pura Vida Palm Springs, www.puravidapalmsprings.com

Random Haus Palm Springs, www.randomhauspalmsprings.com

Santiago Resort, www.santiagoresort.com

Triangle Inn Palm Springs, www.triangle-inn.com

Warm Sands Villas, www.warmsandsvillas.com

 

Palm Springs' LGBT calendar kicks off with Cinema Diverse in September.

 

LGBT Event Blowout

2015

Sept. 17-20
Cinema Diverse: The Palm Springs Gay and Lesbian Film Festival
www.cinemadiverse.org

Sept. 23-27
Left Coast Lesbian Conference
www.sapphirebooks.com

Oct. 29-Nov. 1
Palm Springs Leather Pride
www.desertleatherpride.com

Nov. 6-8
Greater Palm Springs Pride Festival and Parad
www.pspride.org

 

2016

Feb. 4-8
International bear Convergence
www.ibc-ps.com

Feb. 6
Steve Chase Humanitarian Awards
www.desertaidsproject.org

March 25-27
Cathedral City LGBT Days
www.cathedralcitygaydays.com

March 30-April 3
The Dinah Shore Weekend
www.thedinah.com

April 8-11
Jeffrey Sanker’s White Party
www.jeffreysanker.com

April 24
Meet the Museum Party
Palm Springs Art Museum
www.psmuseum.org

April 30
Dining Out for Life
www.desertaidsproject.org

May 2
Evening Under the Stars
www.aidsassistance.org

Leave a Reply